Jeff Lloyd Disappears with Brisbane Jockey Premiership

  • Posted By:

The race for the Brisbane Jockeys’ Premiership was Jeff Lloyd’s all along, but still he will ride the final at Ballina, where his results will have no bearing. He may just decide to have a brief spell, as he will be right on the coast, far from the hustle and bustle of Brisbane or Gold Coast.

Lloyd won 137 times this season, which ties him with the next two jockeys combined, James Byrne and Robert Fradd.

His winning strike rate for the season was 21 percent and his place strike rate was 20 percent. Lloyd closest competitor in winning strike rate was Fradd, whose 13 percent appears anemic by comparison.

He made 651 starts and won just under $6.7 million in prize money, a figure well clear of everyone in the top 20, including Byrne’s $4.8 million.

Lloyd may be the best jockey you never heard of. He has ridden well over 4,000 winners in an international career, closing in on 4,500.

Now 55 years of age, Lloyd brings a level of professionalism to his job that few can equal. This is his first premiership in Brisbane, as he has ridden internationally for many years and has multiple wins in Hong Kong.

In getting the better of Byrne, Lloyd beat a man who has been winning Brisbane Jockeys’ Premierships since 1998, totaling four in all. Chris Munce is a well known name on the list, too, with his name appearin g on the winners’ roll five times.

Lloyd has proven valuable to trainer A.J. Edmonds, for whom he has taken the most rides. He has been riding since 2001, when he jumped for the first time on Hoeberg.

He has won almost $25 million in total prize money to this point.

From a significant win perspective, he rode $26 longshot Nom du Jeu to the post in the 2008 Group 1 Australian Derby at Randwick and Pear Tart in the 2012 Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara at Eagle Farm.