NHL and NBA Conclusion in the Not-Too-Distant Future

  • Posted By:

The ponds have all thawed, but the National Hockey League (NHL) continues to slog on toward the eventual crowning of a Stanley Cup winner that should feature the coronation ceremony sometime in the first or second week of June.

This year’s Finals will feature the Pittsburgh Penguins against the San Jose Sharks, with the first puck scheduled to drop Monday at 4 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (Tuesday, 6 a.m. Sydney).

The Penguins’ presence could be considered somewhat improbable, given that their season began under such adversity that the coach was fired in November, but they have three Stanley Cups to their credit, whilst the San Jose Sharks have never raised the Cup in their brief, 25-year history.

In the National Basketball Association, the LeBron James led Cleveland Cavaliers await the outcome of game seven in the Western Conference Final to learn whether their opponent for the championship will be the Golden State Warriors or the Oklahoma City Thunder.

The Warriors have come back from a 3 – 1 deficit to tie the series at three apiece. The deciding game will be Monday at 6 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time (Tuesday, 11 a.m. Sydney).

*